I’m Black And I’m Proud…For The Most Part


Make no mistake about it, I love my people. The problem I have is understanding my people.

We should've canceled Black History Month as soon as this was made...

We should’ve canceled Black History Month as soon as this was made…

I’m not sure about y’all, but I’m still pretty upset  from the events that took place these last four weeks. For me, February 2013 will go down as the worst Black History Month ever. From the Chris Dorner incident to young Quvenzhane’ being insulted in the name of “satire”, it seemed we were bombarded with incidents and the reactions I saw from my people would’ve made it perfectly ok to cancel Black History Month, but I digress. A friend of mine brought this video clip to my attention. In the clip, political commentator Melissa Perry-Harris condescendingly describes the latest “Harlem Shake” dance craze before describing the rich history of culture that originated in Harlem. She ends by bringing out dancers to show the world how to properly do the Harlem shake. With the Real Harlem Shake video being circulated around the internet the last few weeks, I couldn’t help but think “this is the battle we chose to fight?”   Don’t get me wrong, I understand her argument that we must preserve our culture and history and not let it be made a mockery of, HOWEVER, I’ve never considered the Harlem Shake to be significant part of our history. New Yorkers feel free to educate me on the matter. I’m disappointed in this argument not because I think the dance isn’t that important, but because Lil Wayne is still running these streets after making an Emmitt Till reference and NOBODY seems to be concerned about that. Aside from Till’s family and a weak scolding from Stevie Wonder, I’ve seen more attention given to this Harlem Shake argument than to this incident, which is clearly a slap in the face to those that came before us. The question I pose is why should any other race respect our history and our culture, when our own people don’t? We don’t hold rappers and celebrities, or even our friends/family accountable for a lot of things, yet we get outraged when someone of another race disrespects one of our own or something of our culture. We can’t have our cake and eat too my friends. And that’s just how I’m feeling…

Leave a Reply

